Guidelines on How to Get a Visa to Uganda by Delegates Attending the 8th Afrea Conference and Exempt Countries

Delegates to Uganda must obtain a visa on arrival to Uganda or from one of the Ugandan diplomatic missions, unless they come from one of the visa exempt countries. All delegates must hold a passport valid for 6 months.

Please note that there are three ways for applying for a visa to Uganda. These include:

  1. Applications for a Visa on-line
  2. Applications for a Visa at Uganda Missions Abroad
  3. Applications for a Visa at entrance

1. Application for online Visa

The E-Visa is a separate system which is controlled from Uganda. Below are steps to follow:

  1. Visit
  2. Complete/upload information as required.
  3. Upon submitting your application you should receive a notification with an application number you can use to track your application. (Visas are usually approved within 3 working days, however, applicants should ensure that they apply at least five working days before their intended date of travel).
  4. Upon approval of the application you should receive an e-mail notification with the next steps, with an attachment of the e-visa approval/authorization to travel.
  5. This attachment should be printed and presented to the immigration officer upon arrival to Uganda.
  6. Payment will be made at the point of entry (See below the visa fees).
  7. The visa will be issued at the selected point of entry after a final clearance by the immigration office.

2. Application at Uganda Missions Abroad requirements are:

  1. In person at the Uganda High Commission.
  2. Submitting an application by mail to Uganda High Commission. All applications made by mail must be addressed to (“The Visa Department” Please note, a stamped, self-addressed special or recorded delivery envelope must be enclosed for the mission to return it to applicant).

3. Application at entrance requirements are:

  1. An invitation letter for the conference
  2. Visa Authorization letter from the Government
  3. Download Visa application documents from
  4. Visa application fee of US 50

4.Visa Fees

Visa fee is non-refundable as indicated below;

  1. Single Entry Visa         US$50
  2. Multiple Entry Visa     US$100
  3. Gov’t officials               No fee
  4. Diplomatic Visa           No fee

5. List of Countries which are Visa Exempt

  1. Angola
  2. Eritrea
  3. Malawi
  4. Madagascar
  5. Seychelles
  6. Swaziland
  7. Zambia
  8. Comoros
  9. Kenya
  10. Mauritius
  11. Zimbabwe
  12. Tanzania
  13. Rwanda
  14. Burundi
  15. Antigua
  16. Barbados
  17. Fiji
  18. Grenada
  19. Lesotho
  20. Sierra Leone
  21. Solomon Islands,
  22. The Grenadines
  23. Vanuatu
  24. Ghana
  25. Cyprus
  26. Bahamas
  27. Belize
  28. Gambia
  29. Jamaica
  30. Malta
  31. Singapore
  32. Vincent-Tonga
  33. Holders of diplomatic or service passports issued to nationals of Italy and Namibia do not require a visa for 3 months.